Posted by: leppie | May 19, 2008

Catastrophic hard disk failure

Exactly a week ago, my 150GB WD Raptor died, it seems like something mechanical or just physical, as Vista reports bad blocks on the drive when inserted via USB (I cant even boot with the drive plugged in). This was my system drive, so I needed to reinstall Vista, VS and all the SP’s (sigh).

Anyways, lucky I did a checkin to IronScheme the night before, and I managed to recover all the data I needed from the drive via a Linux Recovery DC (trinity recovery kit).

So development will continue as normal, just taking a bit of time to get back into it.

Cheers 🙂

Responses

  1. Oh I feel your pain. This happened to me once… before I knew the term “source control” -.-

  2. You should use a ghost utility like Norton Ghost or Acronis True Image.


Leave a Reply

Categories

